10
Sep
12

Pets

I have pet rats, 5 of them.  I love them to bits and I think they’re fucking perfect.  My bank account corroborates that statement.

I talked to my dad today who wants me to come visit him in a southern state(I live in the Midwest) over winter.  I told him to commit to dates and give them to me so I arrange a pet-sitter. He said “What pets…Oh the rats?  Who cares about pet rats anyway?”

Why me, your kid cares about pets.  I’d say that you raised me, but that’d really be a lie, given that you really just financed the raising of me.  I acknowledge that as my pets, I am responsible for making sure they have the highest quality of life possible and that means pet-sitters when I’m gone, vet visits, healthy food, and lots of toys.

I get that rats, or any rodent aren’t lots of peoples idea of a perfect pet, but please respect that they are pets and deserve to be treated as such.  They aren’t disposable and they aren’t just things I got on a whim.

  • /rant
4 Responses to “Pets”


  1. 1 The Purple Fork
    September 10, 2012 at 7:28 am

    good for you! once upon a time many years ago i also had rats for pets, silk mice too. i designed a very large “home” for them and they actually lived together. they truly are awesome pets… some of mine had run of the house *the rats, not the mice* which was always entertaining as you never knew where they would be *always check under the stove hood before turning it on!*

  2. September 15, 2012 at 12:10 pm

    Yeah! you go girl! My dad hates my pet rats. He would have been fine if it had been hamsters. I called him an idiot because he thinks this way. Pet rats are smart, funny, clean, lots of fun and trainable. I hope you find a sitter soon!

    • September 15, 2012 at 1:02 pm

      He has to commit to dates first. I’m really not too worried about it though. I live in a college town, it won’t be that hard to find someone who can pop in and make sure everyone is healthy, feed them, and give them a cuddle or two.

  3. November 4, 2012 at 7:43 am

    I have friends and colleagues who queue up for the chance to look after my lot for a few days 😉 People can be remarkably easy to convert!


Leave a Reply

