06
Sep
12

rape and lessons learned

There have been a several rapes and assaults in town since school started, and by several, I mean like three.  Two were at frat houses and one was a stranger assault on the street.  I’m reading a reddit thread about the recent attacks and unsurprisingly someone mentioned the college girl who went missing summer 2011, whose case is still unresolved.

The upsetting part to me is that I think <insert missing girl> is not on people’s minds still. What are girls still doing walking home at 2 AM from the bars by themselves? If anything it seems like we haven’t learned much from the situation and it seems like history is doomed to repeat itself.

Honestly, I learned a lot from her disappearance.  I learned that even in my idyllic town, bad things happen.  I learned that if I ever went missing and my mom had to pack up my apartment she’d have a whole box of sex toys, that I have no idea what she’d do with.  I learned not to judge a situation before it’s resolved.  But most of all, I learned there is -nothing- gained by running scared, because when you run scared, you let the bad guys win.

2 Responses to “rape and lessons learned”


  1. September 6, 2012 at 11:26 am

    That’s very true – you’ve got to be safe but you can’t stop doing stuff because of other people otherwise they win and you lose.


Leave a Reply

