03
Aug
12

Anonynimity

I blog anonymously. The name attached to this blog, Zazel Rodriguez, is fake.  It’s for my own protection more than anything else.  I blogged under my real name for years.  I found it was too limiting to blog under my real name.  I couldn’t stretch my legs, metaphorically of course, and talk about my real feelings about my family, kink, sex or even highly polarizing issues like abortion and gay marriage.

This is one of those times I’m limited by my anonymity.  In the states, as you probably know regardless of where you’re from, marriage equality and equal rights for GLBT persons is the most hot button issue next to abortion.  Resistance to both of these issues is almost wholey based on religious views alone.  I have a huge problem with people attempting to force their morality on me and my choices.  Special interest groups lobby law and policy makers to pass anti-GLBT laws and kill laws and policies that would start to level the playing field for GLBT persons.  These special interest groups are funded by corporations like the fast food chain Chick-Fil-A and the craft and hobby store, Hobby Lobby.  These stores give money to organizations that blatantly bully GLBT people.  I don’t patronize these stores.

I have a lesbian cousin, who I love very much.  She is my favorite cousin for so many reasons.  She wrote a ridiculously moving facebook note about Chick-Fil-A and her rights as a person (seriously, the note made me cry).  I am so proud of her.  I wish very much that I could repost it here, because she spoke about this exact issue so much better than I ever could, but I can’t because I’m anonymous.  Think very, very, carefully about where you spend your hard earned money.  Giving your money to stores like Hobby Lobby, Chick-Fil-A and the other corporations who give money to anti-equal rights organizations, just makes you a bigot by proxy.  I know how much you love the Hobby Lobby sales, or the CFA waffle fries.  I also know that you can get all those things from other stores who aren’t massive dill-holes.

These corporations, the people that run them, and to an extent; the people that patronize those stores, are not upstanding members of society.  They are bigots.  They are anti-choice, anti-equality asshats who don’t deserve your money.  They think their morality is the only morality and that’s just stupid.

0 Responses to “Anonynimity”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

